The Calais Dragon


Guardian of the balance of worlds, the Dragon of Calais is a lasting creation that accompanies the rehabilitation of the city’s seafront. This saurian is imagined as a structuring element of the city. By its movements, it creates emotions and interacts with locals and visitors..


A monumental machine


The Calais Dragon is a colossal construction made of steel and carved wood: the most imposing and the most technical ever imagined by François Delaroziere. Its spectacular mobility is inspired by reptiles. Very expressive, it spits fire, smoke and water in different forms. Mist escapes from its body through thirty vents. Its eyes, eyelids, ears, mouth, tongue are movable. It can lie down, get up, run at up to 4 km/h and beat its thick canvas wings. Its ocean-colored wooden skin covers an area of six hundred square meters. Forty-eight passengers have access to its back thanks to a staircase integrated into its tail.

You can visit the Calais Dragon in any weather condition in its shelter, or while traveling on the Calais seafront as soon as the weather allows. Travel aboard to experience its full dimension: climb along its tail and stroll on the covered panoramic platform integrated into its back. Discover a breathtaking view of Calais and its beach. The dragon awakens, a unique 45-minute journey begins, to the rhythm of this exceptional animal. 


Why a dragon in calais ?


This extraordinary creature comes from a myth – an imaginary tale telling the story of an original creation – written by François Delaroziere. For millennia, men have carried on  stories to give meaning to the world and to life. If the myth has lost its structuring function over time, it still serves the creation of a collective imagination and thus allows the introduction of a dragon in Calais. 

The animal is at the same time fire, air, earth and water dragon. By choosing to create a dragon, François Delaroziere captures a universal figure present in all civilizations. Often a symbol of power and associated with the four elements, it regularly adopts the posture of the guardian. The etymology of the word, ‘dragon’, means ‘to see’, ‘to have a sharp eye’. It is the dragon, who watches over a treasure trove in folklore. They also symbolise the union of opposites and embody the fascination for the unknown. The dragon is a chimera, which contains elements of several animals like the lion, eagle and reptiles. It is said that the world was created from the dreams of dragons. Dragons are certainly known in the Nord region of France and the traditional processions and parades of effigies of giants and dragons are now included on the UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity List. On the top of the belfry of Calais’ Town Hall, there is a dragon weathervane showing the direction of the wind. 

Identity sheet


Height : 10 àto12 meters
Width :  5 to 17,5 meters with outstretched wings
Length : 25 meters
Weight : 72 tons
Speed : 0 to 4 km / h
Propulsion : Hybrid
Materials :  wood, metal, leather, canvas, copper
Manipulations :  4 to 6 pilots
Capacity :  50 passengers
Travel duration : 45 minutes


The Calais Dragon MYTH


« “Beneath the thick crust of the earth runs a maze of deep galleries which connect the seas and the continents. Sometimes, these galleries branch out and widen until they create worlds. Fantastical creatures inhabit these galleries. Large human settlements are the gateways out of this subterranean labyrinth, they open up the passages that connect the underground world to our world.

Since the dawn of time, these «gateways» have been sealed and held shut by sacred stones. The Dragons are the world’s gatekeepers. It is they who maintain balance. Dragons exist in all shapes and colours, they possess enormous powers and every dragon is unique. Le Dragon de Calais is fire, air, earth and water… he has always watched over the lands and seas of thenorth. 

Dragons only appear to humans in situations of extreme need, to settle a conflict or to allay an evil. They are naturally benevolent but can also be wild and unpredictable.“»

 On November 1, 2019, freed from the underground worlds, the Dragon of Calais woke up to enter the city during a great show by Compagnie La Machine.

TRAVEL ABOARD THE CALAIS DRAGON !

Ready for an exceptional journey? Book your trip aboard the Calais Dragon, an unusual outing on the Opal Coast, to the rhythm of this exceptional animal! Stroll on the panoramic terrace built on its back and discover the new Calais seafront ! 

Buy tickets online

Le Dragon de Calais

Gardien de l’équilibre des mondes, le Dragon de Calais est une création pérenne qui accompagne la réhabilitation du front de mer de la ville. Ce saurien est pensé comme un élément structurant de la ville. Par ses déplacements, il maille le centre-ville et interagit avec les habitants et les visiteurs.

© Fred Collier – Ville de Calais

Une machine monumentale

Le Dragon de Calais est une construction colossale faite d’acier et de bois sculpté : la plus imposante et la plus technique jamais imaginée par François Delaroziere. Sa mobilité spectaculaire est inspirée des reptiles. Très expressif, il crache du feu, de la fumée et de l’eau sous différentes formes. De la brume s’échappe de son corps par une trentaine d’évents. Ses yeux, paupières, oreilles, bouche, langue et nageoires sont mobiles. Il peut se coucher, se lever courir jusqu’à 4 km / h et battre de ses ailes en toile épaisse, semblables à des voiles de bateau. Sa peau de bois couleur océan couvre une surface de six cent mètres carrés. Quarante-huit passagers accèdent à son dos grâce à un escalier intégré dans sa queue.

On peut voir le Dragon de Calais par tout temps dans son abri, ou en voyage sur le front de mer de Calais dès que la météo le permet. C’est en embarquant à son bord que l’expérience prend toute sa dimension : grimpez le long de sa queue et flânez sur la plateforme panoramique couverte intégrée à son dos. Découvrez un point de vue imprenable sur Calais et sa plage. Le dragon s’éveille, un voyage unique de 45 minutes commence, au rythme de cet animal d’exception. 

Pourquoi un dragon à calais ?

Cette créature hors norme est issue d’un mythe – fresque imaginaire relatant le récit d’une création originale – écrit par François Delaroziere. Depuis des millénaires, les hommes se transmettent ces histoires pour donner un sens au monde et à la vie. Si le mythe a aujourd’hui perdu de sa fonction structurante, il sert toujours la création d’un imaginaire collectif et permet ainsi l’introduction d’un dragon à Calais. 

L’animal est à la fois de feu, d’air, de terre et d’eau. Il est à l’image d’un grand détroit du monde, d’un territoire brassé par le vent et les embruns, dont la frontière entre l’eau et la terre est poreuse. En choisissant de créer un dragon, François Delaroziere s’empare d’une figure universelle présente dans toutes les civilisations. Souvent symbole de puissance et associé aux quatre éléments, il adopte régulièrement la posture du gardien. L’étymologie du mot dragon signifie d’ailleurs « voir », « regarder avec acuité », il est celui qui veille un trésor. Représentation de l’union des contraires, il incarne aussi la fascination de l’inconnu. Il est dit que le monde est issu de leurs rêves. Dans le Nord on le sait assurément puisque les processions traditionnelles d’effigies de géants sont désormais classées au patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco. 

Fiche d’identité

Hauteur : 10 à 15 mètres
Largeur :  5 à 17,5 mètres ailes déployées
Longueur : 25 mètres
Poids : 72 tonnes
Vitesse : 0 à 4 km / h
Propulsion : Hybride
Matériaux :  bois, métal, cuir, toile, cuivre
Manipulations :  4 à 6 personnes
Capacité :  50 personnes
Durée du voyage : 45 minutes environ

© Angélique Lyleire – Compagnie du Dragon

Le Mythe du Dragon de Calais

« Sous l’épaisse croûte terrestre, circulent de profondes galeries qui relient les mers et les continents. Parfois ces galeries se ramifient et s’élargissent au point de créer des mondes. Dans ces galeries évoluent des créatures fantastiques. De ce dédale enfoui, les grandes villes humaines sont les portes, elles ouvrent les passages qui relient le monde souterrain à notre monde.

Depuis l’aube des temps, ces portes sont scellées et maintenues fermées par des pierres sacrées. Les dragons sont les gardiens des mondes, ils sont les garants de l’équilibre. Lors des travaux menés pour étendre le port de Calais, les ouvriers ont descellé la pierre sacrée qui, sous la mer, verrouille la porte du Nord et protège la surface de la terre des mondes enfouis. Une créature fantastique a réussi à franchir la porte pour s’inviter dans notre monde. Les empreintes relevées dans le sable sont celles d’un gigantesque dragon… 

Les dragons existent sous toutes formes et de toutes couleurs, leurs pouvoirs sont puissants et chaque dragon est unique. Le dragon Bleu est à la fois de feu, d’air, de terre et d’eau, il est depuis toujours celui qui veille sur les terres et mers du Nord. Les dragons n’apparaissent aux hommes qu’en situations d’extrême nécessité, pour régler un conflit ou apaiser un mal. Ils sont naturellement bienveillants, mais peuvent aussi être sauvages et imprévisibles.»

 Le 1er novembre 2019, libéré des mondes souterrains, le Dragon de Calais s’est éveillé pour entrer dans la ville lors d’un grand spectacle de la Compagnie La Machine.

Embarquez à bord du Dragon de Calais !

Prêt pour un voyage inédit ? Réservez votre voyage à bord du Dragon de Calais, une sortie insolite sur la Côte d’Opale, au rythme de cet animal d’exception ! Flânez sur la terrasse panoramique incrustée à son dos et partez à la découverte du nouveau front de mer de la ville de Calais ! 

Lire la vidéo